Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors work alongside us to promote health and prevent disease in Nevada, and serve as powerful champions for our mission. The Board plays a critical role in ensuring that Immunize Nevada has what it needs to carry out its mission, and that it does so legally, ethically, and effectively. To carry out these job duties, members are expected to:

  • Have an interest and belief in the mission of Immunize Nevada and a desire to be a community ambassador.
  • Serve actively and attend meetings regularly.
  • Participate in fundraising activities, including: making a personal financial contribution to the organization each year; identifying prospective donors and assisting in fundraising initiatives; buying tickets, attending, and participating in the planning and marketing of the organization’s fundraising events.

Officers (Two Year Term)

Rutu Ezhuthachan, MD, MMM, FAAP
Medical Director, UnitedHealthcare

Bethany Sexton, MBA
Vice President and Administrator of Department of Medicine, Renown Health

Doreen Begley, MS, RN
Retired (2017)

Steve Kutz, RN, MPH
Division Director, Washoe County Health District, Community and Clinical Health Services

Melissa Shake, Pharm.D.
Immunizations Trainer, Walgreens


Ati Hakimi, MD, MBA
Family Practice

Rachel Hunt
Junior League of Las Vegas

Melissa Krall, LSW
Clinical Operations Director, Community Health Alliance

Janie Root
The Eye Care Center

Emma Kibisu, BSN-RN, MS, CPHQ
Director, Clinical Quality Management, Anthem


Advocacy Committee Chair:
Andrew Pasternak, MD
Silver Sage Center for Family Medicine

Education Committee Chair:
JoAnn Rupiper, RN
Southern Nevada Health District

Outreach Committee Chair:
Monce Espinosa 
Health Plan of Nevada 

Medical Advisor:
Trudy Larson, MD
University of Nevada Reno, School of Community Health Sciences