CDC Immunization Champions

The HPV Vaccine Is Cancer Prevention Champion is an annual award given jointly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), American Cancer Society (ACS), and Association of American Cancer Institutes (AACI). This award recognizes clinicians, clinics, practices, groups, and health systems that are going above and beyond to foster HPV vaccination among adolescents in their communities.

  • 2019: Dr. Ron Aryel and The Reno Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Reno
  • 2018: Dr. Emmanuel Taguba and Lake Mead Pediatrics, North Las Vegas

The CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award is an annual award that recognizes individuals who make a significant contribution toward improving public health through their work in childhood immunization. Each year, up to one CDC Childhood Immunization Champion from each of the 50 U.S. states, 8 U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States, and the District of Columbia is honored.  

Nevada's CDC Childhood Immunization Champions include:

  • 2020: Award not given
  • 2019: Beth Ennis, M.S., APRN; Tonpah Community Health
  • 2018: Robin White, MD; The Medical Profession
  • 2017: JoAnn Rupiper, MPH, BSN, RN; Employee Health, Southern Nevada Health District
  • 2016: Bobbi Shanks, RN; Elko County School District School Nurse Coordinator
  • 2015: Doreen Begley, RN; Early Head Start Health Coordinator
  • 2014: Rutu Ezhuthachan, MD; Medical Director, UnitedHealthcare
  • ​2013: Heidi S. Parker, MA; Immunize Nevada Executive Director
  • 2012: Pamela Beal; Southern Nevada Immunization & Health Coalition Executive Director